A Little Zest…

Health, Wellness and a Zest for Life

Take The Edge Off

Leave a comment

Have you ever felt an insatiable hunger just before dinner but don’t want to spoil your appetite?

When my husband gets home in the evenings after work, he is always so hungry and heads straight to the cupboard as if he hasn’t eaten all day, rummaging through looking for something satisfying to eat and take the edge off.

We do our best to eat healthy, but it can be a challenge to find something tasty and healthy that is also quick and easy. Yes, an apple is quick and easy to grab and is widely known as a healthy pre-meal choice, but in my opinion it’s boring and has a lot of natural sugar, i.e. carbohydrates, that my husband and I are trying to limit.

When I mentioned my husbands dilemma to my beautiful and full-of-wisdom 92 year old mother-in-law, she suggested a cup of beef broth. She said she used to give it to her husband and it always worked for him. Since mom know’s best, I decided to heed her advice. I boiled some water and added it with a cube of beef bouillon to a coffee cup – perfect for sipping .

When my husband got home from work and grabbed some peanuts from the cupboard, I swiftly swapped them for a cup of broth. He was surprised and he chuckled in amusement. He liked that his father used to drink broth to take the edge off, so he was excited that he was getting to try it.  Although he thought it was tasty, it didn’t seem to take the edge off as much as he was hoping AND it was full of sodium which isn’t healthy.

A few nights later I was searching for something other than broth to prepare. Something easy, tasty, not filling, low carb and lower sodium – yes, quite a list to accommodate right? Then I spotted a fresh whole cucumber and some Labne in our fridge. It inspired me to go in an “ethnic” direction and I decided to whip up a quick little appetizer.

I don’t really know what to call it, other than a yummy Mediterranean style dip. This dip was not only quick and easy, it was refreshing, low carb and delicious. It might just be our “go to” evening pre-dinner snack so I just had to share it!

20170406_181632

Get the recipe…

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cucumber, sliced 1/4″ thick so they aren’t flimsy and can be used for scooping
  • 1 cup Labne Kefir Cheese
  • 2 Tablespoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 2 Garlic Cloves, preferably pressed. If you don’t have a garlic press, just chop finely.
  • 1/4 Lemon, we used a Meyer Lemon because it’s really juicy and a tad sweeter than a regular Eureka style lemon.
  • Fresh Spearmint, finely chopped. We picked ours from our garden. If you don’t have any, it’s easy to grow. Buy some stems from the grocery store, place in water and once roots form, plant it. It’s that simple!
  • 1/4 tsp. Zaatar seasoning (Thyme, Marjoram, Sumac, Toasted Sesame, Cumin, Coriander, Cinnamon, Sea Salt) *from our favorite spice shop Spice & Tulips 
  • 1/4 tsp. Marash Chile *from our favorite spice shop Spice & Tulips
  • Salt & Pepper

Directions:
Place 1 cup of Kefir Cheese in medium sized bowl and stir until mixed and creamy. Add in 2 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil, 2-3 peeled and pressed/chopped garlic cloves, juice of half of lemon, chopped spearmint and salt & pepper to taste. Mix all ingredients together then sprinkle Maresh and Zaatar seasonings. Add a sprig of spearmint for garnish and place alongside sliced cucumbers.

Afiyet olsun!
(enjoy your meal in Turkish)

Author: Zest for Life

Welcome to "A Little Zest!" I'd always had and interest in health and wellness, from fitness to nutrition to health insurance benefits and I loved event planning. So it seemed like the perfect way to pair my interests with my talents and become a corporate health and wellness event & service provider. Zest for Life was established in 2011 and has since been growing organically, solely through referrals from satisfied clients and I am excited about what's in store for the future. I am always looking for ways to gain knowledge about the industry and set Zest for Life apart from other companies with similar offerings. I love God, my family, my Dachshunds, traveling, wine, healthy eating, essential oils, gardening and have always had a Zest for Life! Cheers to a healthy day, new adventures and future success! #gethealthy #stayhealthy #zestforlifenow

Leave a Reply

