A Little Zest…

Health, Wellness and a Zest for Life

To Bee or Not to Bee?

Leave a comment

20170329_084112

 

I’ve heard for quite some time that “honey” can be great for many things – hair, nails, acne, skincare, and combating allergies, especially if it is local to the region in where you reside.

Although I experience seasonal allergies, I have never tried bee honey with the intention of reducing or even eliminating my allergies. I only used honey atop my goat cheese and crackers – which by the way is so delicious and a must try!

So on my last trip to my local farmer’s market, I came across Temecula Valley Honey Company locally sourced from Southern California and decided to give their honey and bee pollen a try.

20170328_120925

I purchased the California Bee Pollen, the Wildflower Honey to put on my cheese & crackers18227e8ae60fcc1d5886ed9abdc6d505 and the Buckwheat Honey to apply to blemishes on my face, or maybe not!

Bee pollen is known, especially in the naturopathic world as an apitherapeutic product because it contains groups of chemical compounds that are made by bees and used for medicinal purposes.

Although I had heard about honey and it’s medicinal benefits for allergies, I didn’t know why the honey has been touted as being effective in treating allergies, so I inquired with the bee-keeper representative. She stated that it is the actual bee pollen in the honey that is important for allergies. She was selling both the straight pollen, honey and honeycomb. The difference between honey and straight pollen is that honey has sugar, hence more calories and carbohydrates and bee pollen is just pure pollen, directly from the plants and flowers. It is not sweet and actually has a bitter taste.

I decided the best option for me was to go with the straight pollen and add it into my morning protein shakes. It was suggested that I started out with ¼ or ½ of a teaspoon, gradually increasing to 1 teaspoon.

So here I am, it’s a beautiful Spring morning and I am giving my new bee pollen a try! I added ¼ of a teaspoon to my Vanilla Complete along with a few fresh strawberries and a banana. I didn’t notice the pollen in my shake!  According to Dr. Axe 1 teaspoon 3 times per day is suggested, for a maximum of 60 day.

Shop your local Farmer’s Market to find honey and bee pollen local to your own region.

Did you know? One teaspoon dose of pollen takes one bee working eight hours a day for one month to gather. Each bee pollen pellet contains over two million flower pollen grains contains over 2.5 billion grains of flower pollen. That is amazing!

20170329_084041

* There is also information discounting medicinal claims stating there is no scientific evidence that bee pollen provides any health benefits. When it comes to supplements, natural doesn’t always mean safe.  Experts are warning that taking natural bee pollen supplements may come with the risk of suffering a serious allergic reaction, including life-threatening anaphylactic shock. So for those of you who are allergic to bee’s, you may want to stay clear of bee pollen and of course, if you experience any swelling call 911. A Little Zest is strictly for informational purposes only and it is up to each and every person to do their own research and be aware of their own potential risks. 

Author: Zest for Life

Welcome to "A Little Zest!" I'd always had and interest in health and wellness, from fitness to nutrition to health insurance benefits and I loved event planning. So it seemed like the perfect way to pair my interests with my talents and become a corporate health and wellness event & service provider. Zest for Life was established in 2011 and has since been growing organically, solely through referrals from satisfied clients and I am excited about what's in store for the future. I am always looking for ways to gain knowledge about the industry and set Zest for Life apart from other companies with similar offerings. I love God, my family, my Dachshunds, traveling, wine, healthy eating, essential oils, gardening and have always had a Zest for Life! Cheers to a healthy day, new adventures and future success! #gethealthy #stayhealthy #zestforlifenow

Leave a Reply

